Rams and Bengals punch ticket to Super Bowl LVI

by Seth Udinski

Seth Udinski, FISM News


Super Bowl LVI is set after another thrilling playoff weekend, as the Cincinnati Bengals and Los Angeles Rams won their respective conference title games to advance to the Super Bowl.

In the AFC Championship, Joe Burrow continued his impressive playoff run as the Bengals overcame a 21-3 deficit against the mighty Kansas City Chiefs before a hostile crowd at Arrowhead Stadium to win 27-24.

Cincinnati narrowed the score to 21-10 in the second quarter and ended the half with a brilliant goal line stand to keep the Chiefs from scoring any points and turning the contest into a rout.

In the second half, the Bengals roared back to take a 24-21 lead, before Kansas City tied the game with a field goal at the end of regulation. Just like in the divisional round, the Chiefs won the coin toss, leading many to think the game was as good as over. Under current NFL overtime rules if the Chiefs were to score a touchdown they would win without the Bengals touching the ball, but quarterback Patrick Mahomes was picked off by Bengals defensive back Von Bell. The chance was all Burrow needed, as he marched the Bengals down the field once more, and kicker Evan McPherson sent the team to its first Super Bowl in 33 years with a 31-yard field goal:

In the NFC, the Rams put together a comeback of their own to overcome their division rival San Fransisco 49ers 20-17.

Wide receiver Cooper Kupp had two touchdowns in a game where the Rams overcame a 17-7 deficit. The Rams took a 20-17 lead late in the game, setting up Jimmy Garoppolo and 49ers with one more chance to steal the game. But on third down, Garoppolo threw an interception under a heavy rush from Aaron Donald.

The Rams become only the second team in NFL history to play a Super Bowl in their home stadium, after the Tampa Bay Buccaneers became the first to do so last year. The Bengals and Rams will clash on Sunday, February 13, at 6:30 EST at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, CA.