College Football Playoff: UGA, Michigan, TCU, Ohio State make final cut

by Jacob Fuller

Jacob Fuller, FISM News


The College Football Playoff (CFP) is set.

Georgia and Michigan held on to the top two spots after dominating performances in the SEC and Big 10 conference championship games, respectively, Saturday.

TCU, meanwhile, managed to stay at No. 3 despite suffering their first loss of the season in the Big 12 Championship, falling to Kansas State 31-28 in overtime. Ohio State, who didn’t play over the weekend, took the final spot in the playoff after former No. 4 USC suffered a brutal 47-24 loss to Utah in the Pac-12 final.

This year’s CFP Semifinals will take place on Saturday, December 31 at the Vrbo Fiesta Bowl in Arizona and the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl in Atlanta, Georgia. The Los Angeles region will host the National Championship on Monday, January 9 at SoFi Stadium.

Shortly after the CFP announcement, the remainder of the bowl season was scheduled.