Peyton Manning Leads NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2021

by Seth Udinski

Seth Udinski, FISM News


The NFL’s Hall of Fame Class of 2021 was revealed on February 6 at the annual NFL Honors award show in Los Angeles.  Five players and two executives were selected to be enshrined in 2021: quarterback Peyton Manning, defensive back Charles Woodson, wide receiver Calvin Johnson, wide receiver Drew Pearson, offensive lineman Alan Feneca, head coach Tom Flores and scout Bill Nunn.

The most celebrated name on the list is quarterback Peyton Manning, who many sportswriters consider to be the third-greatest quarterback of all time behind Tom Brady and Joe Montana.  Drafted first overall in 1998 by the Indianapolis Colts, Manning played 18 seasons in his NFL career. He spent his first 14 seasons with the Colts and the last 4 with the Denver Broncos.  Manning won two Super Bowls, one with each team, and went to 14 Pro Bowls.  In 2013, with the Denver Broncos, he set two NFL single season records with 55 touchdown passes and 5,477 passing yards.  He won five NFL MVP awards, and he is third on the all-time touchdown pass list with 539.

During his career, Manning developed a captivating rivalry with Tom Brady.  Brady was drafted two years after Manning, and the two faced off on numerous occasions during their 16 seasons in the league together.  In the regular season, they played each other 17 times, with Brady winning 11 of those match ups.  In the playoffs, Manning held the upper hand, beating Brady in three out of five contests.

Affectionately known in the NFL community as “The Sheriff,” Manning reaped the rewards of a marvelous career this past weekend, as he was elected to the Hall of Fame only five years after his retirement, in his first year of eligibility.