The Final Four Is Set In The NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament

by Seth Udinski

Seth Udinski, FISM News


College basketball’s biggest event has reached the coveted Final Four round, the four-team playoff between the champions of each region in the NCCA Division I March Madness Men’s Basketball Tournament.  The Final Four features three powerhouse teams and one dramatic Cinderella story.

In the Elite Eight round, 2nd-seed Houston conquered 12th-seed Oregon State 67-61, while the top-seed Baylor University beat 3rd-seed Arkansas 81-72.  Gonzaga, the tournament’s lone undefeated team and the number one-ranked school in the nation, pounded USC 85-66.

In one of the most dramatic upsets of the tournament, the 11th-seed UCLA Bruins shocked the 1st-seed Michigan Wolverines 51-49.  UCLA, once a powerhouse in the NCAA, becomes just the 5th 11-seed to reach the Big Dance.  UCLA owns the all-time record for national championships in the Division 1 Men’s Basketball Tournament with 11, many of them under legendary head coach John Wooden in 1970s.  However, the school has not won a national championship since 1995.  UCLA looks to add a 12th championship to its trophy case, this time as the national underdog.

The Final Four round commences this coming Saturday, as Houston and Baylor tip off at 5:15 pm EST.  UCLA and Gonzaga will follow at 8:34.  Both games, as well as the National Championship game on Monday night, will take place at Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the NFL’s Indianapolic Colts, before a socially-distanced crowd of roughly 15,000 fans.